National disability and injury schemes

In 2011 the Productivity Commission recommended the introduction of both a National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) and a National Injury Insurance Scheme (NIIS).

The NDIS will support a better life for people with an existing significant and permanent disability. The Productivity Commission recommended the NDIS be administered by a single agency reporting to all Australian governments.

In March 2013, the NDIS legislation was passed and the NDIS Act 2013 was created, along with the scheme and the Agency—National Disability Insurance Agency. Regional offices have been established in states and territories to manage implementation on the ground.

Further information about the NDIS can be found here

In addition, the Productivity Commission recommended a no-fault National Injury Insurance Scheme, comprising a federation of individual state and territory schemes, to provide fully-funded care and support for all cases of catastrophic injury.

The Queensland scheme is called the National Injury Insurance Scheme, Queensland (NIISQ) and will provide necessary and reasonable lifetime treatment, care and support for people who sustain eligible, serious personal injuries in motor vehicle accidents from 1 July 2016.

The National Injury Insurance Scheme Queensland Bill was passed by the Queensland Parliament on Thursday 26 May 2016. Assent was granted on 14 June 2016 and the Scheme came into effect on 1 July 2016.

In Queensland, the NDIS and NIISQ will be complementary and will transform the way people with a disability access services.

Interstate schemes

Following are the interstate schemes similar to the NIISQ:

NSW – icare lifetime care

ACT  – Lifetime Care and Support Scheme

Victoria – Transport Accident Commission

Tasmania – Motor Accidents Insurance Board

Northern Territory – TIO

South Australia – Lifetime Support Scheme

Western Australia – Insurance Commission of Western Australia