Who is eligible?

From July 1 2016, anyone who sustains a serious personal injury in a motor vehicle accident in Queensland may be eligible to receive necessary and reasonable lifetime treatment, care and support under the National Injury Insurance Scheme, Queensland (NIISQ).

NIISQ is a no-fault scheme. This means we can provide treatment, care and support regardless of who was at fault in the accident, as long as you meet all eligibility criteria as outlined in the National Injury Insurance Scheme (Queensland) Act 2016 and Regulation 2016.

A serious personal injury includes:

Spinal cord injuries_no text   Permanent spinal cord injuries

Traumatic brain injuries_no text   Traumatic brain injuries

Multiple amputations_no text  Multiple or high-level limb amputations

Serious brachial plexus injury_no text  Permanent injury to the brachial plexus

Severe burns_no text  Severe burns

Permanent blindness_no text  Permanent blindness caused by trauma.

Eligibility criteria apply for all injuries and can be found here:

National Injury Insurance Scheme (Queensland) Act 2016 (PDF)

National Injury Insurance Scheme (Queensland) Regulation 2016 (PDF)

Further information about eligibility for NIISQ is available in:

Overview and Eligibility Information Sheet

Refer to our information sheets which include further information about NIISQ.